Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences

The DCU Incorporation Programme has brought together all the Humanities and Social Science disciplines at DCU, St Patrick's College and Mater Dei Institute in an enlarged Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences. Work has been underway since May, 2014 to establish the vision and structure of the new and expanded Faculty of Humanities and Social Science for post-Incorporation Dublin City University. As we approach full incorporation on 1st October, the structures of the expanded Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences are now in place.

Faculty Structures:

The Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences now consists of seven Schools with approximately 160 academic staff, 20 administrative / support staff and well over 3,000 students. These new School Structures were finalised by the Incorporation Board in February 2016. The new Schools are:

  1. School of Applied Languages and Intercultural Studies (SALIS) (Including colleagues from French in SPD).
  2. School of Communications
  3. School of English
  4. Fiontar agus Scoil na Gaeilge
  5. School of History and Geography (Including staff from Irish Studies in MDI).
  6. School of Law and Government
  7. School of Theology, Philosophy, and Music (including staff from the Institute of Ethics, who will also continue to have a cross university role).

Colleagues in the Dept of Mathematics in SPD will divide between School of Mathematical Sciences, in the Faculty of Science and Health and DCU Institute of Education.

In February 2016, a selection process was carried out to appoint Heads of the three newly established Schools (School of English, Fiontar agus Scoil na Gaeilge, School of History & Geography and School of Theology, Philosophy & Music). Heads of School and location of each School are as follows:


Head of School


 School of Communications

Patrick Brereton

DCU Glasnevin Campus

 School of English

Derek Hand

DCU All Hallows Campus

 Fiontar & Scoil na Gaeilge

Ciarán Mac Murchaidh

DCU All Hallows Campus

 School of History & Geography

James Kelly

DCU St. Patrick’s Campus

 School of Law & Government

Iain McMenamin (Acting)

DCU Glasnevin Campus


Dorothy Kenny

DCU Glasnevin Campus

 School of Theology, Philosophy & Music

Ethna Regan

DCU All Hallows Campus


Please click    here  to access the News and Events page of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences.